Archive

Archive for June 8, 2014

COPENHAGEN CARNIVAL 2014

D|R

Prior to today, I had never been to a carnival, but pictures from Rio always used to make me wonder when I would get a chance to take pictures at a carnival. When I heard Copenhagen had its own annual carnival, I jumped at the opportunity to photograph this wonderful festival of colour, dance and music. The Copenhagen Carnival is an annual carnival event taking place in Fælledparken and on the streets of Copenhagen, for three days (Friday-Sunday) during the Whitsun Holiday. Over the years it has developed into the largest Danish festival for World music with 120 bands, 2000 dancers and more than 100,000 spectators participating. (Source: Wikipedia.org)

The main Copenhagen Carnival Parade takes place on Saturday, moving from Kongens Nytorv to The City Hall Square along the pedestrian street Strøget. The day after, the parade is repeated in Fælledparken, leading up to the final evening of celebrations. This saturday I planned to be in Stroget to witness the parade as it moved through…

View original post 124 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
